Is October 31, 2022 a holiday in the Philippines?

october 31 2022 holiday

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — Today, October 18, 2022, President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has signed a document declaring October 31 as a special nonworking holiday.

“The President has signed the Proclamation declaring October 31 as a special non-working holiday, para na rin po marami tayong time kasama ang ating pamilya at para ma-promote na rin po ang ating local tourism,” said Office of the Press Secretary officer-in-charge Cheloy Garafil at a press briefing on Tuesday.

See copy of the proclamation below:

This means that Filipinos will have a long weekend from October 29 to November 1, 2022.



November 2, 2022 has been declared as a special working holiday according to Proclamation 1236 signed by former president Rodrigo Duterte in October 2021.

LIST: 2023 Holidays in the Philippines

On August 23, Malacañang made public the list of regular holidays and special non-working days for 2023 in the Philippines. President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. signed Proclamation 42, which included the list. of 2023 holidays in the Philippines.

The days listed below have been designated as regular holidays and special non-working days for 2023:

Regular Holidays

  • January 1 (Sun) – New Year’s Day
  • April 9 (Sun) – Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor)
  • April 6 – Maundy Thursday
  • April 7 – Good Friday
  • May 1 (Mon) – Labor Day
  • June 12 (Mon) – Independence Day
  • August 28 (Month’s Last Monday) – National Heroes Day
  • November 30 (Thu) – Bonifacio Day
  • December 25 (Mon) – Christmas Day
  • December 30 (Sat) – Rizal Day

Special Non-Working Days

  • February 1 (Tue) – Chinese New Year
  • February 25 (Sat) – EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary
  • April 8 – Black Saturday
  • August 21 (Mon) – Ninoy Aquino Day
  • November 1 (Wed) – All Saint’s Day
  • December 8 (Fri) – Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary
  • December 31 (Sun) – Last Day of the Year

Additional Special Non-Working Day

  • November 2 (Thu) – All Soul’s Day

The document states that separate proclamations announcing national holidays for the observance of Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha must be issued after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays have been established using the lunar calendar or Islamic astronomical calculations. Depending on what is feasible or convenient. – WhatALife!




Source: (1)


Also read: LIST: 2023 Holidays in the Philippines

Jeraiza is a writer of Syntactics Inc. in Cagayan de Oro City. She writes for all sorts of topic to provide the right information and to keep the readers updated with the trends. A fan of all things classic, a typical bookworm with books gathering dust, and a fiction writer on weekends.

    Leave a Reply

    *