Home CDO Chess Team 7th placer in the Masskara Festival tournament

CDO Chess Team 7th placer in the Masskara Festival tournament

cdo chess team masskara festival

CAGAYAN DE ORO CITY, PHILIPPINES — The campaign of the Cagayan de Oro Chess Team in the 1st Masskara Festival National Inter Provinces, Cities, and Municipalities Chess Team Championship was successful.

The team captured 7th place in the event, which ended last October 16, 2022, at the Forest Park Resort in Barangay Taculing, Bacolod City, Negros Occidental.

Led by International Master Daniel Quizon, the eventual champion, Dasmariñas City A, almost crushed the minds of the Oro chessers in the seventh and final round. In his board-two match-up with Fide Master Roel Abelgas, Lennon Hart Salgados was the only one to escape defeat with a draw.

Allan Cantonjos (Board 3 bronze medalist) lamented the heartbreaking loss.

Sayang, had we won, we could have a better chance in the top-four semifinal round,” Cantojos said. 

On the other hand, city sports coordinator Romarey B. Gorro reported that Team CDO got individual awards. He said that Salgados earned himself the gold medal award on Board 2 with his solid 5.5-performance, a consolation in their defeat. He received a cash prize worth Php 4,000.

As Lennon Hart Salgados became the Board 2 gold medalist, Richelieu ‘Jong’ Salcedo was also the Board 1 bronze medalist, while Allan Cantojos was the Board 3 bronze medalist. Gorro also noted that Team CDO received P12,000 for their top-seven finish among the 24 competing teams around the country.

Team CDO chess players IM Richelieu Salcedo III (Board 1 player), Christian Arroyo (Board 4 player), and Renan Cantilado (alternate player) were also with them in achieving the awards. Also guiding the team were the coaches of Team CDO, Zacharias Loloy Duman-ag, Jake Gonzales, and Aldren Ranario.

Meanwhile, in the elimination round, the Dasmariñas City A defeated the topnotch General Santos City-MPCL team in their two-game championship match. Their score was 6.5-1.5 in favor of the Dasmariñas team, and they received a cash prize of Php 150,000. Powered by IM Joel Pimentel, the GenSan-MPCL team received the runner-up prize of Php 100,000. 

Meanwhile, after defeating Bacolod Team B of Grandmaster Darwin Laylo and David Elorta, Muntinlupa City A-Bigboys of FM Nelson Mariano III got Php 50,000. They won 7-5 in the battle for third place.

The other teams in the top 10 are the Bacolod City A, Calamba City, Calapan City, Silay City-Pawn Storm Chess, and San Carlos City-Negros Chess Club. – WhatALife!/Zed

Source: (1), (2)

Also Read: Around 76,000 Kagay-anons vaccinated in the first 100 days of Mayor Uy’s term

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *