Home MMFF announces list of winners 

MMFF announces list of winners 

mmff announces list of winners

MANILA, Philippines – The winners of the 49th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) were announced on Wednesday, December 27, at the New Frontier Theater in Quezon City.

“The MMFF has always been committed to promoting and recognizing the remarkable talent and artistry of our filmmakers. We are proud to say that this roster of films has once again showcased the diversity and richness of our cinematic landscape,” said MMFF Executive Chairman and MMDA Deputy Chairman Frisco S. San Juan, Jr. during the opening remarks.

Instead of the usual eight films, a total of 10 films competed for awards at this year’s MMFF *Gabi ng Parangal*.

“Firefly” secured the Best Child Performer award for its lead star, Euwenn Mikaell, along with the Best Screenplay accolade. On the other hand, “Gomburza ” emerged as the most awarded film, winning a total of 7 trophies.

The accolades for “Gomburza” include 2nd Best Picture, as well as Best Actor for Cedrick Juan, Best Director for Pepe Diokno, Best Cinematography, Best Production Design, Best Sound, and the Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award.

In the second spot, both “Mallari” and “When I Met You In Tokyo” secured 4 wins each, including 3rd and 4th Best Picture, respectively.

Here is the full list of winners:

  • Best Picture – “Firefly”
  • 2nd Best Picture – “Gomburza”
  • 3rd Best Picture – “Mallari”
  • 4th Best Picture – “When I Met You In Tokyo”
  • Best Actress – Vilma Santos, “When I Met You In Tokyo”
  • Best Actor – Cedrick Juan, “Gomburza”
  • Best Supporting Actress – Miles Ocampo, “Family of Two”
  • Best Supporting Actor – JC Santos, “Mallari”
  • Best Child Performer – Euwenn Mikaell, “Firefly”
  • Best Director – Pepe Diokno, “Gomburza”
  • Best Screenplay – “Firefly”
  • Best Cinematography – “Gomburza”
  • Best Editing – “Kampon”
  • Best Production Design – “Gomburza”
  • Best Visual Effects – “Mallari”
  • Best Original Song – “Finggah Lickin” by Eugene Domingo, “Becky and Badette”
  • Best Musical Score – “Mallari”
  • Best Sound Design – “Gomburza”
  • Best Float – “When I Met You In Tokyo”
  • Gender Sensitivity Award – “Becky and Badette”
  • Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award – “Gomburza”
  • Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence – “When I Met You in Tokyo”
  • Marichu Vera Perez Maceda Memorial Award – Lily Monteverde, Regal Films

Sources : (1),(2),(3)

Also Read: Dingdong Dantes and Marian Rivera Receive Praise for ‘Rewind’ Performance in MMFF

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *