Home LIST: Winners at MMFF Gabi ng Parangal 2021

LIST: Winners at MMFF Gabi ng Parangal 2021


Dark comedy film ‘Big Night‘ had an eventful night after bagging several awards in this year’s Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF) Gabi ng Parangal.

The film, directed by Jun Robles Lana, dominated the event as it emerged as the winner in a total of eight categories, including the highly coveted Best Picture, CNN Philippines reported.

Lana won the Best Director, while the film’s star Christian Bables was named Best Actor in a Lead Role. Bables played the character of Dharna, a gay beautician who found out he was included in a drug watch list.

John Arcilla also brought home the Best Supporting Actor award for his performance in the same film.

Moreover, MMFF Gabi ng Parangal also recognized ‘Big Night‘ for having the Best Screenplay, Best Cinematography, and Best Musical Score. In addition, the film also received the Gender Sensitivity award.

Carlo Francisco Manatad’s drama film ‘Kun Maupay Man It Panahon (Whether the Weather is Fine)‘ placed second in Best Picture. Meanwhile, Lawrence Fajardo’s action thriller ‘A Hard Day‘ ranked third in the same category.

The MMFF 2021 has eight official entries, including ‘Big Night,’ ‘Kun Maupay Man It Panahon (Whether the Weather is Fine),’ ‘A Hard Day,’ ‘Love at First Stream,’ ‘Nelia,’ ‘Huwag Kang Lalabas,’ ‘The Exorsis,’ and ‘Huling Ulan sa Tag-araw.’

Below is the complete list of winners during the 47th edition of the film festival awarding ceremony held at the SM Aura Samsung Hall.

MMFF 2021 Award Winners

Best Picture – Big Night!

Second Best Picture – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Third Best Picture – A Hard Day

Best Director – Jun Robles Lana (Big Night!)

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Christian Bables (Big Night!)

Best Actress in a Leading Role – Charo Santos-Concio (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon)

Best Actor in a Supporting Role – John Arcilla (Big Night!)

Best Actress in a Supporting Role – Rans Rifol (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon)

Special Jury Prize – Daniel Padilla (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon)

Best Screenplay – Jun Robles Lana (Big Night!)

Best Cinematography – Carlo Canlas Mendoza (Big Night!)

Best Editing – Lawrence Fajardo (A Hard Day)

Best Production Design – Juan Manuel Alcazaren (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon)

Best Visual Effects – Mofac Creative Works, Hue Media Quantum Post, Ogie Tiglao (Kun Maupay Man It Panahon)

Best Musical Score – Teresa Barrozo (Big Night!)

Best Sound – Albert Michael Idioma (A Hard Day)

Best Original Theme Song – “Umulan Man o Umaraw” from the film Huling Ulan Sa Tag-araw

Gatpuno Antonio J. Villegas Cultural Award – Kun Maupay Man It Panahon

Marichu Vera-Perez Maceda Memorial Award – Rosa Rosal

Natatanging Gawad Award – the late Danilo Lim (former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority chairman) and the late poet Bienvenido Lumbera (former MMFF Selection Committee head)

Gender Sensitivity Award – Big Night!

Creator Jury’s Choice – short film “Kandado

Best Float during the Parade of Stars – Huwag Kang Lalabas

This year marked the return of the MMFF to the big screen after the government allowed cinemas to reopen after more than a year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The MMFF opened on December 25 and will run until January 7, 2022.

– WhatALife.ph

Also Read: New Shows Alert on Netflix Philippines in January 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *