Home Cagayan de Oro City, Iloilo City, Laguna under MECQ from August 16 to 31

Cagayan de Oro City, Iloilo City, Laguna under MECQ from August 16 to 31


Malacañang announced on Friday, August 13, that the quarantine classification in the cities of Cagayan de Oro and Iloilo and the province of Laguna will be downgraded from the most restrictive enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) to modified ECQ (MECQ) from August 16 to 31, 2021.

In a statement, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte approved the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases’ (IATF-EID) recommendation to place these areas and 11 others under MECQ.

“President Rodrigo Roa Duterte approved the recommendation of the Inter-Agency Task Force to de-escalate the classification of Laguna, Iloilo City and Cagayan de Oro City from Enhanced Community Quarantine to Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine beginning August 16 until August 31, 2021,” Roque, also acting as IATF-EID spokesperson, said.

Meanwhile, the ECQ status in Metro Manila and Bataan will be retained until Aug. 20 and 22, respectively, Roque said.

He also announced other areas under MECQ from August 16 to 31 are the following:

  • Apayao
  • Ilocos Norte
  • Bulacan
  • Cavite
  • Lucena City
  • Rizal
  • Aklan
  • Iloilo Province
  • Lapu-Lapu City
  • Mandaue City
  • Cebu City

The following areas, meanwhile, will be placed under general community quarantine (GCQ) “with heightened restrictions”:

  • Ilocos Sur
  • Cagayan
  • Quezon
  • Batangas
  • Naga City
  • Antique
  • Bacolod City
  • Capiz
  • Negros Oriental
  • Cebu
  • Zamboanga del Sur
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Davao City
  • Davao del Norte
  • Davao Occidental
  • Davao de Oro
  •  Butuan City

Under GCQ:

  • Tarlac
  • Baguio City
  • Santiago City
  • Quirino
  • Isabela
  • Nueva Vizcaya
  • Puerto Princesa
  • Guimaras
  • Negros Occidental
  • Zamboanga Sibugay
  • Zamboanga City
  • Zamboanga del Norte
  • Davao Oriental
  • Davao del Sur
  • General Santos City
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • Sarangani
  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Agusan del Norte
  • Agusan del Sur
  • Surigao del Norte
  • Surigao del Sur
  • Dinagat Islands
  • Cotabato City

The rest of the country will stay under MGCQ until Aug. 31, Roque said.

(Source: PCOO)

Also Read: CdeO logs 183 new COVID-19 cases; total cases at 14,397

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *