Home 2022 presidential candidates concede defeat to Marcos

2022 presidential candidates concede defeat to Marcos

presidential candidates concede to marcos

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — Former senator Bongbong Marcos leads the presidential race with a huge margin over his competitors. As a result, other presidential candidates have conceded and delivered messages to their supporters.

The day after the election results started coming in, other presidential candidates made their peace with the results with various messages to their supporters.

Ka Leody

Labor Leader Ka Leody de Guzman expressed his decision to concede from the race after landing at the 8th position. He made his decision official during an interview with ABS-CBN.

May ganun din akong pagtanggap na magkakahirapan pero sa .

buong eleksyon na ito ay magkaroon pa ng malaliman at mahabang kampanya para sa mga katulad ko na ipaliwanag sa mamamayan na hindi pwede talaga maasahan ang mga trapo, mga political dynasties, ang mga bilyonaryong pulitiko,” he said.

(I accepted the difficulties of this election, but I hope that through campaigns such as ours, the masses will understand that they cannot count on corrupt politicians, political dynasties, and billionaire politicians.)

Ka Leody also called on COMELEC to look into the ‘anomalies’ surrounding the May 9 elections.

Ping Lacson

While it is unclear whether Lacson has officially conceded from the race, he tweeted a message to his supporters, announcing that it’s time for him to serve his family “for a change.”

“I’m going home. After being away too long looking after the needs of other people, it is time to serve my family for a change,” said Lacson in his tweet on Tuesday morning.

Currently, he is in the 5th spot.

Lacson has served the public for 50 years. He once served as the Philippine National Police chief before being elected senator.

Isko Moreno

During his Special Report program, Moreno officially conceded the presidential race.

Mayroon na pong pinili ang taumbayan. Sa kasalukuyan ay nais kong batiin si dating Senador Ferdinand Marcos sa kanyang pangunguna at patuloy na pangunguna… Congratulations po sa inyo,” he said.

(The people have chosen. Right now, I want to congratulate former senator Ferdinand Marcos for his continuous lead. Congratulations.)

Like Lacson, Moreno has alluded to the many calls to back out from the race, insisting that he made the right choice.

“As I said in my miting de avance, my decision was correct to run for president to offer an option to the long conflict between reds and yellows,” Moreno stated.

Manny Pacquiao

On Tuesday night, May 10, Manny Pacquiao declared he conceded the presidential race to former senator Bongbong Marcos Jr. He issued this statement in a pre-recorded video.

Marunong ako tumanggap ng pagkatalo. Sana lang, kahit talo ako sa laban na ito, panalo pa rin ang mga kapwa ko Pilipino, ‘yung mga naghihirap,” Pacquiao said.

(I know how to accept defeat. But I hope that even though I lost this race, my fellow countrymen, especially the poor, win.)

He also wished for the success of the leading candidate Bongbong Marcos, reiterating how his administration must help the poor.

Pacquiao has retained the 3rd spot in the presidential race with more than 3 million votes, following Leni Robredo with 14 million and Marcos with 31 million.

Leni Robredo

Vice President Leni Robredo, the candidate that follows Marcos in the presidential race, has not yet conceded defeat.

However, she delivered a message of thanks and hope to her supporters when election results started coming in, and her vote count continuously showed her rank below Marcos.

“Walang nasayang; hindi tayo nabigo. Pinakamahalaga: Hindi pa tayo tapos. Nagsisimula pa lang tayo,” she said.

(Nothing was wasted; we did not lose. The most important thing: We are not done. We are just beginning.)

Her message to the “kakampinks” further ignited the social media frenzy with her supporters, who went to social media to express their thoughts. Others also decided to conduct a prayer rally in the hopes of a “miracle” wherein Leni Robredo wins. – WhatALife!

Sources: (mb.com.ph), (newsinfo.inquirer.net), (rappler.com), (interaksyon.philstar.com)

Also read: Leading National Election Candidates 2022

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *