Home Duterte signs RA 11696, Marawi Seige Compensation Act of 2022

Duterte signs RA 11696, Marawi Seige Compensation Act of 2022

duterte signs marawi seige compensation act of 2022

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — President Rodrigo Duterte signed into law a measure that will provide monetary compensation to anyone who died or lost property in Marawi City during the war.

On Wednesday, April 27, acting presidential spokesperson Martin Andanar confirmed the signing of Republic Act No. 11696, also known as the Marawi Siege Compensation Act of 2022.

“Pinirmahan din po ni Pangulong Duterte ang Republic Act No. 11696 na nagbibigay compensation sa pagkawala at pagkawasak ng mga ari-arian, at pagkawala ng mga buhay sa 2017 Marawi Siege,” Andanar stated in a Palace press briefing.

(President Duterte signed Republic Act No. 11696, which provides compensation for property losses and devastation, as well as human lives lost during the Marawi siege in 2017.)

“Ayon sa batas na ito, bubuo ng isang independent at quasi-judicial body na tatawaging Marawi Compensation Board na pamumunuan ng isang chairman at walong mga miyembro na i-a-appoint ng pangulo,” he added.

(According to the law, the Marawi Compensation Board will be established as an independent and quasi-judicial body with a chairman and eight members selected by the President.)

The law provides compensation to the heirs of individuals who died during the Marawi siege, including those who were legally presumed dead.

Owners of “residential, cultural, commercial structures, and other properties” that were destroyed inside main affected areas (MAAs) and other affected areas (OAAs) will also receive tax-free compensation. 

Barangays covered in MAA include:

  • Lumbac Madaya
  • South Madaya
  • Raya Madaya 1
  • Raya Madaya 2
  • Sabala Amanao
  • Sabala Amanao Proper
  • Tolali
  • Daguduban
  • Norhaya Village
  • Banggolo Poblacion
  • Bubong Madaya
  • Lilod Madaya
  • Dansalan
  • Datu sa Dansalan
  • Sangkay Dansalan
  • Moncado Colony
  • Moncado Kadilingan
  • Marinaut West
  • Marinaut East
  • Kapantaran
  • Wawalayan Marinaut
  • Lumbac Marinaut
  • Tuca Marinaut
  • Datu Naga

OAA barangays, on the other hand, are the following: 

  • Saduc Proper
  • Panggao Saduc
  • Raya Saduc
  • Lilod Saduc
  • Datu Saber
  • Bangon
  • Fort
  • Wawalayan Caloocan

Private property owners who had their homes demolished as part of the Marawi reconstruction program would be compensated as well. 

The signing of the law comes almost 5 years after the Maute Group and government forces battled at Marawi City, on May 23, 2017. – WhatALife!

Source: (rappler.com, inquirer.net)

Also read: Duterte criticizes hazing in fraternities

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *