Home All 10 candidates expected in COMELEC Presidential Debates 2022, March 19 

All 10 candidates expected in COMELEC Presidential Debates 2022, March 19 

all 10 candidates expected in comelec presidential debates 2022 march 19

MANILA, PHILIPPINES — The Commission on Elections (COMELEC) announces that all 10 presidential contenders in the 2022 elections will participate in a televised discussion organized by the poll body.

On March 19, from 7 to 9 p.m., the first of three debate rounds will take place. The location has not yet been determined, but COMELEC spokesperson James Jimenez said that the first round of the COMELEC Presidential debate 2022 would occur in Metro Manila.

According to Jimenez, candidates will not be given questions in advance, and they will not be able to carry anything to the stage.

In an ambush interview with media on Thursday, February 24, the COMELEC spokesperson remarked that Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., who has skipped several forums and interviews dedicated to presidential aspirants, will attend the event.

Meanwhile, Marcos previously declined to participate in a discussion hosted by the Kapisanan ng mga Brodkaster ng Pilipinas, other journalistic organizations and CNN Philippines’ debates, claiming scheduling conflicts.

Marcos also skipped out on The Jessica Soho Presidential Interviews, accusing the award-winning journalist of being biased.

His spokesman, Vic Rodriguez, has previously stated that they do not want to attend debates in which candidates are placed against one another, preferring instead programs in which candidates have more opportunity to clarify their respective platforms.

Also, Jimenez previously noted that the law does not require candidates to participate in public debates and that the polling body cannot compel them to do so.

On the other hand, the COMELEC will “make a big deal” out of a candidate’s absence by leaving the podium given to him or her unoccupied. 

Former presidential spokesman Ernesto Abella, Leody de Guzman, Manila Mayor Isko Moreno Domagoso, former Defense Secretary Norberto Gonzales, Senator Ping Lacson, Faisal Mangondato, former senator Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr., Jose Montemayor Jr., Senator Manny Pacquiao, and Vice President Leni Robredo are the presidential candidates for the May 9 elections. – WhatALife!

Source: (gmanetwork.com)

Also Read: #ElectionWatch2022: Schedule of campaign activities of the national candidates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *